The Bayelsa State Oil and Environmental Commission would like to express its gratitude to Governor Douye Diri whose commitment to this mission has brought a life-changing project of this magnitude to fruition, and to the former Governor of Bayelsa State Seriake Dickson for having set up the Commission.

The Commission also wishes to thank the Government of Bayelsa, Commissioners, and Advisors, past and present, who have painstakingly worked alongside the Commission’s team for the duration of the Commission’s life.

Special thanks, in particular, go to:

Professor Jamieson and his team of forensic scientists for their contributions to the research that underpinned the report findings.

To the communities and leaders of all the Local Government Areas the Commission visited: Southern Ijaw, Nembe, Ekeremor, Kolokuma-Opokuma, Brass, Yenagoa, Ogbia and Sagbama as well as the civil society organisations, professional groups, community representatives and individuals who dedicated their time to provide evidence to the Commission in Bayelsa.

To all the academics from the Niger Delta University, in Bayelsa State, and the University of Port Harcourt, in Rivers State, who provided in-depth research to inform the Commission’s report.

To the wide range of contributors inside and outside Nigeria whose insights have considerably advanced the Commission's work, findings and recommendations.

Finally, the Commission’s thanks go to all those tireless efforts and ongoing struggles for decades which have contributed in different ways to the establishment of this Commission and to the contents of its report. The names of many of the individuals who contributed to the report have not been published in order to protect their identities.

Appendix 1: Bayelsa State Oil and Environmental Commission Terms of Reference
Appendix 2: The Remit, Composition and Methodology of the Bayelsa State Oil and Environmental Commission
Appendix 3: Statement by Professor Allan Jamieson
Appendix 4: Scientific Study Methodology
Appendix 5: Biographies